Region Nororma


The north-eastern region of Málaga (Nororma) is one of the nine provinces of the province of Málaga, formed by seven municipalities. These municipalities are: Archidona, Cuevas Bajas, Cuevas de San Marcos, Villanueva de Algaidas, Villanueva de Tapia, Villanueva del Rosario and Villanueva del Trabuco. The region is bordered in the east by the province of Granada and in the north by the province of Córdoba and the regions La Axarquía in the south and Antequera in the west. The region is only 436 km2 in size and there are approximately 28,000 people living in the Netherlands (2017), which amounts to 64 people per km2.

Demographic Statistics

The “Instituto de Estadística y Cartografía de Andalucía” annually determines the number of inhabitants. Here the figures are taken from the municipal registrations. We have looked at the country of birth of the persons who were registered in a municipality in the Nororma region in 2017.

The figures show the following: in the Nororma region, a total of 1,729 foreigners lived in 2017, 6.17% of the population. Of these, 979 people were European, which was 3.50% of the total population in the Nororma region. The largest groups of foreigners were: Africans (428), Moroccans (408), English (377) and Romanians (358). The largest groups of Europeans are the Germans (76) after the English and Romanians. At least according to statistics, many Europeans are not registered with the municipality.

The majority of Europeans live in:

  • Archidona, 263 people corresponding to 3.13% of the population. The largest group are the Germans with 137 people.
  • Villanueva del Trabuco, 206 people corresponding to 3.87% of the population. The largest group is the English with 129 people.
  • Villanueva de Algaidas, 168 people corresponding to 3.96% of the population. The largest group are the English with 80 people.

However, if we look at the number of foreigners as a percentage of the total population, other names will appear.


Accesibility of the region Nororma

Aeropuerto Federico García Lorca Granada- Jaén: this airport is located next to the city of Granada. The distance from Archidona to the airport is 64 km (41 minutes). There are a total of 12 destinations, including London and Naples. Click here for all destinations.

Málaga-Costa del Sol aeropuerto: this airport is located just outside the city of Malaga. The distance from Huéscar to the airport is 61 km (44 minutes). There are a total of 110 destinations, including Belfast, Birmingham, Bournemouth, Bristol, Cardiff, Cork, Doncaster, East Midlands, Edinburgh, Exeter, Glasgow, Leeds/Bradfort, Liverpool,  London, Manchester, New Castle, Shannon, Southend Sen. Click here for all destinations.

Motorways: in the far north of the region, the A-92 motorway crosses the region. This motorway connects Malaga with Granada and Murcia.

Public transport: train / bus: The municipalities are connected by several long-distance bus routes, which can be consulted on the following link.

Climate in Nororma

The climate is mild, and generally warm and temperate. The rain in Archidona falls mostly in the winter, with relatively little rain in the summer. This location is classified as Csa by Köppen and Geiger. The average annual temperature in Archidona is 15.1 ° C. The approximate average rainfall is 613 mm. The precipitation is the lowest in July, with an average of 5 mm. In November, precipitation reaches its peak, with an average of 88 mm. With an average temperature of 24.3 ° C, July is the hottest month of the year and January 7.4 ° C on average, is the coldest month of the year. The difference in precipitation between the driest and wettest months, is 83 mm. The variation in annual temperature is around 16.9 ° C.

Nature in the region Nororma

The region lies in the depression of Antequera in the Surco Intrabético between the Cordoba Subbetica north and middle limestone arch Malaga (Cordillera Penibetica) to the south. From the latter are the mountains of Camarolos, Gorda, San Jorge and Gibalto, which are part of the region.

In the region several protected natural areas with different levels of protection are included in the RENPA (network of protected natural areas of Andalusia):

  • 2 peri-urban parks: the Sierra de Gracia and the pines in Vva Del Trabuco
  • 2 natural monuments: Falla de la Sierra del Camorro, Fuente de los cien canos – Nacimiento del río Guadalhorce
  • 1 nature reserve: Lagunas de Archidona
  • 2 sites of Community importance of the Natura 2000 network: Sierra de Camarolos, Cueva de Belda I

The villages in the region Nororma

  • Archidona
  • Cuevas Bajas
  • Cuevas de San Marcos
  • Villanueva de Algaidas
  • Villanueva de Tapia
  • Villanueva del Rosario
  • Villanueva del Trabuco

Comments are closed.